Scones!

Meet Lemon Cranberry (left) and Whole Wheat Cinnamon (right)
Seriously, SCONES! This scone recipe is the food MVP of my year. I have made these scones more than any other thing, and with great variety. The possibilities are endless. Lemon cranberry, apple cinnamon, whole wheat rosemary, currants, blueberries, whatever you want! Sweet, savory, breakfast, lunch, dinner. I just don’t get sick of them.
 
There is little I can think of more singularly delightful than a quiet morning with scones, butter, jams, coffee, and a good book. I have my friend DeAnn to thank for those quite mornings this year—or at least the scone part, as she gave me the recipe. It seems like she has to have lived in Waco longer than one year, but I actually barely knew DeAnn when I got this scone recipe. She is now a second year PhD student in Baylor’s English Department, and a reminder that somehow our program has attracted a number of awesome Catholic students.
 
The greatest and only photo of me and DeAnn.  
DeAnn is the source of many delightful things like monk parties, deep-seated faith, steady wisdom, Edith Stein book recommendations, Pope Benedict quotations, a good taste in Saints, a shared enthusiasm for the Sister Act movies, and so on. She SOCRGs, so I’m sure I’ll be mentioning her again. For now I will say that she has been an unlooked for (but much needed) example of a strong, single, Catholic, academic woman living a very full life very well. She is one of the new friends I made this year that remind me I will never stop meeting good, interesting people—even if I do something as terrible as live in Waco, Texas for most of a decade. Anyway, DeAnn is a truly impressive woman for so many reasons other than this scone recipe, but those of you who don’t know her can test out the scones and just imagine how great she must be.
 
I don’t know anything about music, but I imagine that food can be a lot like music. A recipe is like a song. Every rendition is a little different, taking on a unique interpretation in the same way that performance does. I guess that could be like a lot of things; but let’s stick with music. Good recipes can and should be passed around like good songs that each musician puts their own spin on. So, read these notes then perform them as you wish:

Ingredients:
  • 2 c. all-purpose flour 
  • 2 Tbs. sugar 
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda 
  • 2 tsp. baking powder 
  • 1/2 tsp. salt 
  • 1/4 c. butter, cut up 
  • 2/3 c. buttermilk (or, I use plain yogurt) 
  • 1 large egg
 Directions:
  1. Preheat oven to 425˚
  2. Grease cookie sheet.
  3. Combine dry ingredients in a bowl.
  4. With a pastry blender (or fork, let’s be honest), cut in the butter until the mixture looks like coarse crumbs.
  5. Beat the egg and yogurt (or whatever) together in a small bowl, then pour onto the dry ingredients and stir with a fork until the mixture comes together. 
  6. Knead the dough 5-6 times on a lightly floured surface, or right in the bowl (is what I do). 
  7. Transfer to the cookie sheet and pat into an 8-inch circle. 
  8. Cut into 8 wedges with a long, sharp knife (not all the way through). 
  9. Bake 15-17 min. until golden. 
  10. Cool on a wire rack.
That is the basic recipe, to which you can add or replace all sorts of things. I’ve never even used buttermilk because I never have it. Instead, I use yogurt which is much more common in my refrigerator. Last time I made scones I had accidentally bought vanilla yogurt instead of plain and they turned out just fine. I’m sure you could only use whole wheat flour and they’d be great! Brush the top with buttermilk and sprinkle with sugar before baking and you could have a sweet sugary crust on top! Some of my favorite combinations are as follows:
  • Lemon (or Orange) Cranberry: Toss in a cup of dried cranberries and the zest of one smallish lemon (or orange) after cutting in the butter.
  • Cinnamon Whole Wheat (great with all sorts of jams): Include about 1/2 or 1 Tbs. of cinnamon with the dry ingredients, and replace 1 c. of the all purpose flour with whole wheat.
  • Apple Cinnamon Whole Wheat: Same as above, with half-ish a diced apple stirred in after you cut in the butter.
  • Walnut Rosemary Whole Wheat: Same as above, but including 1/4 c. of chopped walnuts and a Tbs. or two of chopped fresh rosemary instead of cinnamon and apples.
  • Whatever else you’d like. To each his scone, you know? If I ever tell anyone about this blog, you should comment any new versions you try.
About toeachhisscone

Hi. My name is Heather. I am Catholic and I like to feed people. Basically, I over-think, over-cook, over-eat, and then over-write about it. This is where that last part happens. Welcome.

One response to “Scones!

  1. Pingback: Lady Breakfast « To Each His Scone

Leave a Reply

