Jenny Friend

Jenny in a Saayeh-Heather Sandwich
Blog, meet one of the best-living people I know. Her name is Jenny. She is Waco-famous for being the best art teacher, creating beautiful spaces, throwing the best dinner parties, and generally living well. Jenny doesn’t live Orange County/Manhattan well; she lives transcendentally well. As much as anyone I know, Jenny loves things that are good and truly beautiful. She seeks what is healthy and fulfilling. This can be seen everywhere from her cleaning supplies to her giant garden. For their anniversary, her boyfriend Ryan got her a bouquet of kale. Seriously. Though she recently gave up eating sugar, I still love her. She’s that great.
Desserts! Plural!
This year I am indebted to Jenny for numerous reasons. After many years (literally) of knowing each other and saying “we should totally hang out” but never hanging out, we have become real-life friends. Real-life, call her when Thesis just punched me in the throat and cry about it, friends. For my birthday Jenny and the delightfully quirky, similar story of real-life-friendship, Saayeh threw me an unbelievable dinner party. There were 800 of my favorite things: sweet potato foods (hummus, chips), assorted cheeses, champagne, my favorite wine, mushroom stew with handmade gnocchi, chocolate ganache cake, homemade meringues, weird personalized bunting, candles, wonderful people. Those are some grown-ass women (as Saayeh would say) and their sophisticated entertaining skills show it. They called on me to make a toast and I failed miserably in the moment, but let me say now: I am honored to know these people. To have my life celebrated by them made me feel extremely uncomfortable in the best way. It made me at the same moment accept some love and want to be more worthy of it in the future. I mean, just look at the evening:
For the curious, the sign reads “Happy Ducking Birthday.”
Classic Jenny group shot.

I am indebted to both Jenny and Saayeh for another reason. All of my worldly possessions currently reside in their apartments, and I am being stored in Jenny’s lovely guest room (aka the cloud). My life is all up in the air for what feels like the too many-ieth time in the past few years. Cheers to the likes of Jenny and Saayeh (and the Moores) for making painful unknowns and scary transitions bearable through their gratuitously generous hospitality.

In honor of Jenny, here is one recipe for her favorite food: kale. If you’re starting to hate Jenny, just know that her other favorite food is bacon. It evens out. But, this kale is the easiest and most delicious alternative to an unhealthy salty crunchy snack. 
Crispy Kale
Ingredients:
  • Kale (duh)
  • Olive Oil
  • Kosher or Sea Salt
  • Pepper

 Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Remove the stems from the kale, and tear into manageable pieces (think chip-sized).
  3. Toss in a drizzle of olive oil on a baking sheet with a sprinkle of salt and pepper and lay the kale out evenly so it’s not piled up.
  4. Bake until crispy, which will be about 20 minutes, turning the kale a couple times to make sure it cooks evenly.
  5. Bowl it up. Maybe watch a movie while you’re at it.
About toeachhisscone

Hi. My name is Heather. I am Catholic and I like to feed people. Basically, I over-think, over-cook, over-eat, and then over-write about it. This is where that last part happens. Welcome.

2 responses to “Jenny Friend

  1. I love those girls for being so kind to my girl"

  2. Pingback: Birthday 2013 Show and Tell | To Each His Scone

Leave a Reply

