A Sandwich

I have very little to say today. Mainly just that I made a great sandwich last week. This sandwich had it all: food-groups, flavors, textures. It was a damn good sandwich. I’ve been wanting to eat it again, but the moment has passed. So I thought I’d tell you about it; in case you wanted to know how to make a good sandwich.

SANDWICH

It’s rude to stare.

It begins with a multigrain loaf of bread. There was a short time when I baked my own bread, and I miss that time, but my current kitchen is not exactly conductive to it. I don’t make bread right now but that doesn’t mean I’ll waste my time on bread that doesn’t deserve to house a sandwich. All bread needs is flour, yeast, water; sometimes things like olive oil—not a million chemicals you can’t pronounce. Bread that is shipped around the country in a bag doesn’t even taste good and has no right posing as toast or presuming on a sandwich. So get ye to a bakery (or the bakery section of your grocery store). If you can’t tell, bread is one of my favorite foods. I’m attached to it gastronomically, aesthetically, emotionally, and theologically. Okay, bread rant over.

The sandwich goes on with sliced balsamic pork tenderloin (dinner leftovers, to be honest with you). Don’t get me started on deli meats. Sandwich meat should be…meat. It should be sliced from something that looks like meat and contains only meat. Sausages like salami are their own thing (and I respect that; I love that). But “turkey” or “ham” should be turkey or ham. Moving on.

Next comes the cheese. And what a cheese: Wensleydale with Cranberries. Have you had this? Go have this. The first person to introduce me to Wensleydale was a Northern Irish friend, Julie, living in Texas. Julie missed this cheese so much she had my dear friend Wendy search for it when she was on a work trip to the UK. Wendy had a hell of a time finding the stuff and told an epic saga of its discovery and transport across nations during her hectic travels. Later we discovered that our local grocery store always has it available. It is a funny story. It is a delicious cheese. I would never have thought to put it in a sandwich, but I had it in my refrigerator, I mean I had a stroke of genius while constructing this sandwich. It pairs quite nicely with the pork.

The sandwich is finished with thinly sliced cherry tomatoes, baby arugula and spinach blend, and a good, coarse, whole grain mustard. I fake paninied it on a cast iron skillet with a tiny drizzle of olive oil (toasting on each side and pressing with a spatula until brown). Lemme tell you. It is a damn fine sandwich. That’s all for now.

About toeachhisscone

Hi. My name is Heather. I am Catholic and I like to feed people. Basically, I over-think, over-cook, over-eat, and then over-write about it. This is where that last part happens. Welcome.

2 responses to “A Sandwich

  1. Wendy

    I’m hungry for this sandwich! Also. It was an epic journey to find that cheese!

  2. Pingback: Summer | To Each His Scone

Leave a Reply

