Waffle Night

So, several weeks ago I saw this on The Pinterest (as my mother would call it):

pin

That’s a stout waffle. A waffle made with beer.

It sent me spiraling into uncontrollable waffle daydreams. It became a problem. It made me think of waffles and it made me think of waffles as I never had before—recognizing their creative potential. Sometime after college I came to the realization that pancakes do not equal Bisquick, and became very enthusiastic about making them with oats, whole wheat flour, spices, yogurt, all sorts of fruit, etc. Somehow this never translated to waffles, which I have continued to see exclusively as icky Bisquick territory.

To be clear, I have had a pretty serious relationship with waffles in the past, but I shut down our on-again-off-again after college. I’ve never really been back. When I was in high school I asked for a Belgian waffle maker for my birthday and I got one. I’ve been told that this is not normal. I proceeded, as I remember it, to eat waffles breakfast, lunch, and dinner for months. (So, probably weeks, when I was allowed.) I’m sure Bisquick and high fructose corn syrup did not give me the nutrition that I needed as a girl. I didn’t care even a little.

My second most distinct waffle memory dates to my senior year in college. We had an ice day that winter and the DUP got to stay home and watch Little Women all day in our pajamas. It was one of those perfect days when no one wants to leave each others’ company and it’s a constant joy that no one has to. We ate so many waffles—waffles made in that same old Belgian waffle maker I lugged down to Texas when I was nineteen.

maker

High tech; with a cord and a light.

After that, no significant waffle memories. I’ve moved my resentful waffle maker from house to house and it has seen no love. Until now.

After weeks of pining, I confessed to my friend Andrea that I had developed a Waffle Problem. She was a true friend, supporting me in my time of need. No one wants to waffle alone, so we decided to have Waffle Night with a group at her and her husband’s house. It was better even then it sounds.

We listened to Weezer and did a blind vodka taste-test before making greyhounds. Brandon made hollandaise a few minutes too early and all was almost lost before we looked up how to save it and it worked. Everyone was involved with the cooking and getting in each others’ way and generally making a commotion. There is a very special kind of closeness that develops when you cook with people. You can’t be formal or particularly polite when you need another hand now or the hollandaise is ruined, don’t know where the flour is and need to yell over laughter, are dirtying an unreasonably number of other people’s dishes, or accidentally break too many eggs and swear about it.

We made a savory Whole Wheat Bacon Waffle for our first course, topped with bacon (yes, more bacon), a fried egg, and hollandaise sauce.

insta egg

So much to smile about.

angle

With hollandaise. Bacon and whiskey in the background. Let’s do this again right now.

For dessert we made a Stout Spice Waffle topped with blackberries and fresh whipped cream.

insta sweet

Making waffles, bacon, hollandaise, whipped cream, and drinks with five cooks in a small kitchen at relatively the same time is kind of insane; but insane in a good way, like driving for hours with six people in a four-and-a-half seat car, or the person who added cayenne pepper to hot chocolate for the first time. Everything was remarkably delicious. OBVIOUSLY. I mean, look at those pictures.

If you’d like to make the stout waffle click on that Pinterest photo up there. I added more spice and had no regrets. Also, it was a little too crispy for my taste. Not that I won’t make it again! But I’ll probably make some creative adjustments.

Whole Wheat Bacon Waffles

Adapted from this recipe.

Ingredients

  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 C buttermilk
  • 1 C whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 3 Tbsp melted butter
  • 4 strips of bacon

Directions

  1. Heat waffle iron, duh.
  2. Combine dry ingredients.
  3. Beat the egg with the buttermilk, then mix into the dry ingredients.
  4. Add butter and mix until smooth.
  5. Crumble the bacon and fold into the batter.
  6. Make waffles.
  7. Eat waffles.

This makes about three giant waffles. All of the recipes I looked at made way too many waffles. Small groups are best for Waffle Nights, as it is difficult to serve waffles to a bunch of people at the same time. Since we were making two kinds, we split the waffles in half and everyone got to enjoy both.

paint2

About toeachhisscone

Hi. My name is Heather. I am Catholic and I like to feed people. Basically, I over-think, over-cook, over-eat, and then over-write about it. This is where that last part happens. Welcome.

3 responses to “Waffle Night

  1. Weezer till I’m a Geezer!

Leave a Reply

