Yes, I’m still alive (and cooking).

Hey blog, guess what. I moved. And painted. And represented To Each His Scone at a real blogger thing during SXSW in Austin (this is mostly a joke; I tagged along with a real blogger). And started planning trips for this summer. And celebrated Easter. And became immortal through art. And helped with three wedding showers. And wedding weekended with the best of them. And other stuff. So, sorry I disappeared. Lately my life has looked like this:

20130313_221327

Literally and figuratively.

Those Dahms helped me move and as we were piling stuff in the living room Andrea made a tactful comment about how “these walls could use a fresh coat of paint.” Some friend she is. This is the first time I’ve ever lived alone; I’m already about a 45% ineffective mover, so adding something like painting to the list was just cruel. Painting?! Alone?! Imagine! I have this nasty habit of just staring when I’m trying to organize my stuff. I’m either stopped (staring), kind of thinking about what to do/kind of zoned out, or I can’t finish one task because halfway through accomplishing it I see another task that needs doing and I start that one. AADD? AdultADD? Whatever.

On top of the staring issue, I generally put off asking for help until “I’m ready for it,” meaning more organized, meaning I’ll never be ready for help. Thank God I’m friends with some pretty awesome people who don’t just get frustrated with the prone-to-paralysis aspect of my personality (though I’m sure they do that too), but work around it when attempting to help me. I foolishly ignored some very good friends’ offers, but luckily my roommate and her NOW HUSBAND (Jenny and Ryan) just moved crap without my asking, Brandon pretty much told me he was going to carry furniture, Andrea planned a time to go to pick paint colors, and DeAnn orchestrated all of the painting gear borrowing and picked everything up from a kindly lender (thanks again Watsons!). They didn’t just help out, they made everything happen. I don’t know what I would have done without them. Probably nothing.

So now, instead of a scary hoarder nest, I live in this:

20130322_190413

Look at that paint job!

I think we even managed to have fun in the painting process. There was some good lady talk time; DeAnn got a flat tire that we changed (easy); I bribed them with junk food; we ranted about the people who had painted last: Yellow Staple People. There were so many staples in my walls. Just…why? Idiots. Then we impulsively painted the bathroom in a state of exhausted delirium and immediate regret. Brandon brought us pizza and we all sat on my tiny kitchen floor feeling gross and drinking beer. Despite the crappy photo, it’s very nice now.

I have mixed feelings about living alone, but I adore my new place and thus feel inspired to fill it with people. I immediately (like five days later) hosted a small dinner party for Jenny before she got married. Then trip planning dinners, reading groups, an Easter vigil party… and there are still so many people I want to have over! So. Get ready, I guess. I have some more foods shared with friends to tell you about.

About toeachhisscone

Hi. My name is Heather. I am Catholic and I like to feed people. Basically, I over-think, over-cook, over-eat, and then over-write about it. This is where that last part happens. Welcome.

One response to “Yes, I’m still alive (and cooking).

  1. Kathy

    You are your momma

Leave a Reply

